Writing Prompt: The Rocket-ship

The Rocket-ship: Write about a rocket-ship on it’s way to the moon or a distant galaxy far, far, away.

rockets rocket ship space shuttle sunset dusk sky lights


January 12, 2020

NASA is accepting volunteers to go on a rocket-ship destined to land on Mars, which is about 48.34 million miles away from the moon.

They tested it in 2018, unmanned, and were successful after several tries. They did it with the SLS–Space Launch System rocket. It cost NASA about $7 billion in order to launch it. An insane amount of cash. Rocket-ships are expensive.

Alright, well, like I said. They’re taking volunteers. I happened to sign up to be one of them. My family’s shocked and worried. I’m no astronaut. But NASA’s taking anyone, provided they take and pass a special training course (which I took and passed), and I’m up for an adventure. To leave this town, just for a little while, to experience space and land on Mars. I don’t care what my family says. It’s an exciting opportunity.

I’m writing this down just in case I don’t come back. I don’t think that’s gonna happen, but, you never know. I’m sure as heck gonna take this journal with me when we launch. We, as in, me and 11 other people. We were assigned a team after training, and I got some pretty cool people.

I’m leaving blank pages in here for pictures and other writing. I have a Polaroid camera I plan to use. The team doesn’t know about it yet, but they’re gonna love it. There’s something about a Polaroid camera that makes the photo seem all the more special.

Almost time for me to go hang out with the team. One of our team members, Phil, is planning a party at his house tonight. We leave early the next morning for the launch, so, I for one am not going to stay too late. There should be at least one well-rested member going up tomorrow. ‘Til then!

January 13, 2020

We’re seated in the rocket now, minutes from countdown. I’m so excited I can barely concentrate.

The party last night was fun. There were good beers and lots of laughs. And lots of drunken singing and dancing. I left early as planned, much to the dismay of the team, but

Oh, countdown’s gonna happen soon!

The team just screamed excitedly,

I’m laughing at them now.

I showed them my Polaroid camera as soon as we got on the rocket, and they were ecstatic. They demanded a picture from inside the rocket as soon as we sat down.

Ah, there’s count down!

Ten…

Nine…

Eight…

Seven…

Six…

Five…

Four…

Three…

Two…

One…

And we’re off!


What a cool prompt! This is obviously not about me; just a short fictional journal entry from an excited volunteer. There are two links in the beginning of the prompt. The first one takes you to a google search, verifying the information about the moon and Mars. The second one takes you to an article done by The Verge on NASA’s SLS. I took some of the information from the article and incorporated it in the prompt, and I wanted to credit where I got that information because I couldn’t have known that off the top of my head. Hope you enjoyed it, and learned a little something about what NASA is planning!

Let me know what you think, and feel free to tackle this prompt yourself. Get creative. You can write up your own response to the prompt and send it to me, and if I like it, I’ll feature you. Features will happen weekly on Fridays – Feature Fridays. If you have a writing prompt you want me to write about, send that to me too. You can send those things to me here.

Thanks for reading. See you soon.

 

Prompt taken from Thinkwritten

Leave a comment